Fatwa on Soft Drinks: Investigative Report
|Fatwa on Coke and Soft Drinks|
|Coca-Cola: The Real Things?|
The World’s Best-kept Secret: Coca-Cola Unveiled
After a detailed investigation it has been proven beyond any doubt that Coke and other cooldrinks are haraam for Muslim consumption.
All of the facts gathered during my investigation are found herewith including overwhelming proof from a previous investigation conducted by the Mujlisul Ulama of South Africa.
This subsequently led to the Mujlisul Ulama declaring Coke haraam in the early 80's. The Utusan Konsumer declared it haraam in 1984 on a thorough investigation of its own.
Coke was given a court order by the Indian government to reveal its secret recipe but chose to rather pull out of the country than to disclose its covert formula.
Since its inception Coke has ignored two court orders to reveal its true contents.
The original recipe for Coke is at this point in time locked up in a bank vault in the USA.
At any one time only the Head Chemist at Coca Cola knows the true contents of Coke. The formula has been passed down from Head Chemist to his predecessor over the years as the Head Chemists have retired.
From all the proof gathered and put together it is astounding how this product could ever have been declared halaal.
I had personally been abstaining for a year as I had previously had doubt and it was therefore better for me to abstain for the sake of taqwa, but it is now a confirmed certitude that Coke is haraam and it is now my Islamic duty to abstain.
The Contents of Coke
The Secret recipe of Coke as per a formulary book that belonged to John Pemberton who invented Coca-Cola 107 years ago. The recipe included citrate caffeine, extract of vanilla, seven flavoring oils, fluid extract of coca (cocaine), citric acid, lime juice, sugar, water, caramel and alcohol. Evidently the cocaine was removed in 1903. Coca-Cola continues to dominate the scene after 107 years, and the profits from the sale of it have been enormous.Its content is as follows:
Merchandise #1 Sugar
Merchandise #2 Caramel
Merchandise #3 Caffeine
Merchandise #4 Phosphoric Acid
Merchandise #5 Coca leaf and Cola nut Extract (20% Alcohol)
Merchandise #6 Was Lime juice, but was incorporated into Merchandise #7X as an oil
Merchandise #7X Flavouring mixture (see below)
Merchandise #8 Vanilla
Merchandise #9 Glycerine, but apparently no longer used
Table: The Secret Recipe of Coca-Cola
The Secret Flavourant Merchandise #7X is made up as follows:
1 oz (28.35 grams) Citrate Caffeine 3 oz (85.05 grams) Citric Acid
1 oz (28.35 grams) Extract Vanilla 1 Qt Lime Juice
2.5 oz (70.88 grams) Flavouring 30 lbs Sugar
4 oz (113.4 grams) F.E.Coco 2.5 gal (11.365 litres) Water
80 Oil Orange 40 Oil Cinnamon
120 Oil Lemon 20 Oil Coriander
40 Oil Nutmeg 40 Oil Neroil
1 Qt Alcohol (95%)
DIRECTIONSMix Caffeine Acid and Lime Juice 1 Qt. Boiling water add vanilla and flavouring when cool.
Let stand for 24 hours
Vanilla Extract (Not synthetic) is haraam (see attached proof)
Ethanol is haraam (see attached proof)
Alcohol is used in the preparation of the secret formula called 7X as part of the flavouring (95% Alcohol) – haraam
Glycerine that is used in the Formula 7X and also in the main recipe is haraam. (NB. Glycerine is claimed to not be used in the main recipe anymore)
Alcohol is used in the reparation of the Kola leaf and Kola nut mixture (20% Alcohol) – haraam
Recipe for Vanilla Extract:
1 ½ c Vodka or Brandy
½ c Water
1 c Granulated sugar
There are various recipes for Vanilla Extract from different resources but this is the most common recipe. Apart from synthetic Vanilla Extract all recipes for Vanilla Extract contain alcohol, either Brandy or Vodka in most cases.
Vanilla Extract has been overlooked and not been investigated before today, not even by the Mujlisul Ulama or the Utusan Konsumer in their respective investigations.
With regards to ethanol below is the following Merriam-Webster’s Collegiate(R) Dictionary, Tenth Edition definition of ethanol:
Prounciation: \ˈe-thə-ˌnȯl, -ˌnōl, British also ˈē-\
: a colorless volatile flammable liquid C2H5OH that is the intoxicating agent in liquors and is also used as a solvent – called also ethyl alcohol, grain alcohol
Almost all cooldrinks manufactured today contain ethanol since ethanol is used as a dissolving media for most flavourants.
Coke and Sparletta amongst others have admitted to having used ethanol in their flavouring essence.
The reasoning that Ethanol is not khamr as professed by many scholars is pure deception by shaitaan and the kuffaar.
The first declaration made by Nabi (sallallahu alayhi wasallam) concerning this matter was that not only is wine prohibited but that the definition of khamr extends to any substance which intoxicates, in whatever form or under whatever name it may appear. Thus, for example, beer and similar drinks are haraam.
Our beloved Nabi (sallallahu alayhi wasallam) was once asked about certain drinks made from honey, corn, or barley by the process of fermenting them until they became alcoholic. Rasulullah (sallallahu alayhi wasallam), blessed as he was with the best of speech, replied succinctly:
- "Every intoxicant is khamr and every khamr is haraam."
And Hadhrat Umar (radhiyallahu anhu) declared from the pulpit of Rasulullah (sallallahu alayhi wasallam):
- "Khamr is that which befogs the mind."
From the above it is evident that ethanol is beyond any doubt haraam despite what our deceived brothers choose to believe.
Glycerine which has already been declared Haraam by the Jamiatul Ulama is included in Coke in two forms. It is firstly used in the Vanilla Extract as a means to "fix" the aroma of the flavouring. It is also used in the main recipe as a preservative although there are claims that it is not used any more.
The Flavouring part of Merchandise #7X is made up of 95% alcohol together with Lemon, orange, lime, cassia and nutmeg oils mixed together.